Brahmacharya as Energy Independence

Brahmacharya is one of the Yamas, or Suggestions for a firm foundation for practice. Brahmacharya means conserving your life force. As I was listening to folks discussing our current gas prices and “Energy Independence” on the radio, I realized that this is another application of Brahmacharya. 
When we are aware of where and how we expend our life force – our precious time, energy and resources – we can make choices that reflect our deepest values.
Energy Independence begins with not using our life force carelessly. So if we’re sitting in front of the TV it’s because we mean to, and we’ve chosen the images we’re taking in. Or, if we realize mid-activity we are involved in something that doesn’t reflect our deepest truth, knowing we can choose differently any time.
The other part of Energy Independence is choosing the most efficient methods for moving through the world. On the mat this might mean being aware of whether we’re gripping in a pose, and releasing areas of unnecessary effort. A good rule of thumb is not to reach out further or with more vigor than we are reaching in.
In relationships, everyday interactions and helping others, our practice on the mat is really practice for respecting our own life force and the energy of everyone we meet. That’s why, though yoga makes us more flexible, healthier, thinner and happier, we have so many more reasons to find our feet on the mat.

9 comments
  1. Beautiful! It is such a great way to express brahmacharya.
    May I reprint this on my blog?

  2. Hello! That would be lovely – I love your blog, Nadine! Thanks, cs

  3. yogaj said:

    Hi, I’m a brand new yogi-blogger. I found your site through Nadine’s. I love your style and I love how your writing is so honest and inspiring. As a teacher, I completely relate to your post Self-Possessed, Resolute, Act. Yes, I’ve had those same thoughts and what a great quote to go back to for support and comfort. Much success to you!

  4. yogaguide said:

    Hi YogaJ! Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting and your good wishes. I just went back and re-read that post and it’s as true as it was several weeks ago. I’m finding it as hard (or harder!) not to take personally the positive results of my efforts as it was to remain open while entertaining less fruitful outcomes.

    Hope your teaching is bringing you fruitful moments! What is your blog address… I’d love to visit you! Thanks again, Christine

  5. Julie said:

    Hello! Thanks for your reply! I’d LOVE for you to visit my new site http://www.lunapresenceyoga.com. This is all so new to me, and I’m still learning the ropes, but I love the community! I can’t wait to read more of your posts! Peace and best wishes!

  6. Mahita-Devi said:

    LOVED, LOVED, LOVED, What you had to say. Very insightful. I enjoy this blog and added it to my list. I enjoy reading something that is thought provoking.

    Mahita Devi–Mantra Mama

  7. bonnie said:

    I compleatly agree, I also think it goes for the people I have in my life. Its not that I dislike people but if I put energy into a relationship with someone who I don’t feel gives back its time and energy I could spend giving to a person in my life who needs and deserves my love and attention

  8. Newbie said:

    This is cool, i needed your site to get info on brahmacharya. I now take yoga with my awesome teacher Kate and she just inspires the whole class to push ourselves into the pose to get there 100%. You remind me of her. Goodluck with your ideas!

Leave a Reply

