Security & Consciousness

Whenever I hear radical advice, my natural inclination is to find the way between dichotomies created by bianary thinking. Do this, don’t do that, embrace this, have faith in that, abdure that other thing. “Do this, don’t do that, can’t you read the sign?” “So I made up my own little sign. It said thank you Lord for thinkin’ ’bout me, I’m alive and doin’ fine!” If you remember The Band, you’ll remember the song from which those lyrics spring. They talk about signs blocking out the scenery and breaking the mind. Then, the very tool which priorly felt oppressive, divisive, ignoring the most important parts of life is used to express what is most important: underlying unity of opposites, well-being, acknowledgement, Spirit & humanity.

I just received some advice: “Let go of security consciousness.” Security, though is something I’ve fought hard for in my life and I recognize it’s value. What does this “security consciousness” mean anyway?

What if security lies in consciousness. What if true security – knowing that you will handle what comes your way even if there are difficult surprises, that you can’t loose what truly secures value in the world – comes from consciousness itself? What if security simply comes from cultivating awareness, which implies acceptance of what is rather than imposing templates of imagination?

We can aspire to this kind of clear awareness. Is it in our grasp? Can our consciousness function outside of imagination? Can we apprehend without grasping, trusting, not that we’ll get what we asked for, but that we can remain open to what we receive? Can I?

Leave a Reply

