“everyday 20 minutes yoga is good?”

Yes! This question comes up almost every day in the searches that lead here. And that’s the whole reason for this blog: to say, “Yes, yes, yes! Yoga Every Day!”

And 20 minutes is brilliant. Maybe you pick three poses to work on today, or this week. Or five. It doesn’t matter. Make sure you have Savasana before you leave your mat so you can distill the essence of what you find there and carry it forward into the rest of your day and night. Maybe one day you do all pranayam, another is all mantra and yet another is all Sun Salutations. Beautiful! Answer the call of your embodied bliss – Sat, Chit, Ananda (Being, Consciousness, Bliss), Sanskrit: सच्चिदानंद.

10 comments
  1. Accountable said:

    My blog was also searched one day with the term 20 minute yoga work out daily is it good.

    I have been working out with 15 minute workouts. I’m not fond of the Yoga one as it seems to try to pack in more poses and less holding the pose. It’s very rushed (so anti-Yoga IMHO).

    So more than one blog is checked out by the same search string. I’m so happy that people are getting the right answer.

  2. yogaguide said:

    Why not dive into your own 15 minute yoga workout! You can hold the poses as long as you feel, follow them with what your body asks for, focus on the breath. Rather than anti-yoga, it sounds to me as if you are anti-being-rushed, which is *so* yoga!

  3. Accountable said:

    I might have to start doing that. I do like the sun salutaions, That’ll warm me up here in my basement office!! LOL! followed by some Hora breathes. My sister gave me a Yoga deck for Christmas a couple of years ago. I’ll have to get those out again.

    Thanks for the inspiration!

  4. You know, Savasana is probably the hardest thing for me in my home practice.

  5. Isabella said:

    Thank you so much for a lovely blog. It’s such a pleasure to read. Hence the reson I have started my own – you are definitely an inspiration to me to get onto my mat as often as I can (I’m trying to aim for everyday).

    Please take a look and I would appreciate any criticisms and/or advice. http://becomingayogi.blogspot.com/

    Isabella.

  6. yogaguide said:

    Thank *you* for your comment and your blog, too! I love your personal reflection on the precepts of yoga, your clarity and transparency. Its value is paralleled by its difficulty sometimes, and it takes courage to reveal the truth. Thank you for your courage!

  7. Katie G said:

    Thank you so much for your comments. I struggle all the time trying to find the time to do a “real” yoga practice and I usually can only squeeze 15-30 minutes. I continually try to remind myself that whatever I can do is enough.

  8. yogaguide said:

    Your yoga practice is as real as it gets! The one in our heads is lovely and motivating and plays a role in our happiness, but it’s the one on the mat, the one we actually practice that creates deep, lasting beauty and truth for us and those around us. Not only is 15 minutes enough, you are enough, you are abundant and beautiful and your fifteen minutes is gold! Fifteen minutes of really being present with ourselves is everything…”Practice and everything will come.”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

